Summer 2017 Class Schedule
|July 18 - 19||Tuesday - Wednesday||6:30 PM - 9:30 PM|
|August 15 - 16||Tuesday - Wednesday||6:30 PM - 9:30 PM|
How much does it cost?
Insurance Premium Reduction $35.00
Point Reduction, License Reinstatement, & Court Ordered $95.00
This is a 6 hour course is designed to teach drivers about safe driving attitudes and behaviors.
Insurance Premium Reduction
If you have not acquired and points on your MVR for 3 years, you may take the 6 hour Defensive Driving course to receive a discount on your auto insurance premium. The discount percentage is determined by your insurer.
Many courts in Georgia will dismiss a ticket for a traffic violation if you complete a 6 hour Defensive Driving Program prior to your court date. If the ticket is dismissed, there will be no points placed on your driving record.
Points and Fine Reduction in Court
If you pay your traffic ticket at the window, prior to court, points will be added to your (MVR) Motor Vehicle Record. When you go to court present your DDC Certificate of Completion to your judge and ask if they will accept the certificate and not add points onto your MVR. Under Georgia Law the judge may also reduce your fine by 20%.
In accordance with O.C.G.A §40-5-86, licensed Georgia residents may request that DDS reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia driver's license up to 7 points once every 5 years.
To qualify for a Points Reduction, you must successfully complete a certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course and present the original certificate of completion to the DDS by mail or in person at one of our Customer Service Centers.
If you request a Points Reduction by mail, please mail the original Driver Improvement (defensive driving) certificate of completion to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, P. O. Box 80447, Conyers, Georgia 30013.
The Georgia Point System
The Georgia Point System ranges from 2 to 6 points. A driver with 15 points in a 24 month period will be suspended.
Points are assessed for each conviction pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-57(c)(1)(A)
The State assesses no points for speeding convictions less than 15 miles-per hour over the posted speed limit and for convictions of driving 'Too Fast for Conditions', as per O.C.G.A. §40-6-180. No points are assessed against non-residents of Georgia.
Southeast Regional Driving & Safety Academy
2901 University Ave.
Columbus, Georgia 31907
DT 418 / TPT 418
DI 967 / RRP 9460 / RRP 10057